New York County Supreme Court Judicial Departures, New Assignments and Reassignments

by Fred Abramson on January 8, 2010 · 1 comment

The Law Office of Frederic R. Abramson provides per diem coverage for lawyers in New York County.  See our per diem page for more information.

Here is the latest information on changes to the New York County Bench: This information is taken from the New York Court Website:

As of December 31, 2009, the following Justices have retired: Justices Harold Beeler (Part 21), Joan B. Carey (Part 29), Nicholas Figueroa (Part 46), Edward H. Lehner (Part 19), Marilyn Shafer (Part 8), and Walter B. Tolub (Part 15).

The following Judges have become Justices of the Supreme Court, Civil Branch, New York County beginning January 1, 2010: Justices Lucy A. Billings, Barbara Jaffe, Joan M. Kenney, Cynthia S. Kern, Manuel J. Mendez, Kibbie F. Payne, and George J. Silver.

Certain Justices who have been assigned to this court will receive new Part assignments as of January 1, 2010, as follows: Justice Eileen A. Rakower will leave City Part 5 and take over Part 15 (formerly Tolub, J.); Justice Saliann Scarpulla will leave City Part 52 and take over Part 19 (formerly Lehner, J.); Justice Martin Shulman, in addition to his current assignments, will take over Judge Tolub’s tax certiorari inventory (henceforth assigned to Justice Shulman’s Part 1); Justice Michael Stallman will take over the Transit Part, Part 21 (formerly Beeler, J.); Justice Paul Wooten will take over Part 7 (formerly Stallman, J.)

The newly arriving Justices will be assigned to the following Parts and, at least for the time being, the following courtrooms:



71 Thomas, Rm. 103
(City Part) (Formerly Rakower, J.)
80 Centre, Rm. 307
(formerly Shafer, J.)
71 Thomas, Rm. 304
(E-Filing City Part) (formerly Scarpulla, J.)
80 Centre, Rm. 546
(Motor Vehicle) (formerly Wooten, J.)
80 Centre, Rm. 122

Justices Mendez and Payne will be serving as hybrid Judges. That is, each will rotate between the Civil Court and this court on a monthly basis. Accordingly, neither will be assigned an IAS inventory in this court.

The medical malpractice inventory of Judge Carey (Part 29) has been divided among Justices Joan B. Lobis (Part 6), Alice Schlesinger (Part 16), and Milton A. Tingling (Part 44).

Appearance dates previously issued by a Justice in any particular case will remain in effect unless otherwise directed hereafter by the Justice to whom the case is now assigned, except that dates for argument on motions previously issued by Justice Shafer are rescinded and Justice Kenney will take the motions in question on submission. If any motions were marked submitted to a Justice who has retired or who has assumed a new assignment, but have not been decided, those motions may be re-calendared in the Motion Support Office Courtroom to effectuate an orderly reassignment to the Justice to whom the case is now assigned.

As to the foregoing changes and for future information on any case of interest, counsel should consult the court’s Supreme Court Records On-Line Library (or Scroll) (which is accessible at no charge on this court’s website (under “Case Information”) at; Scroll will reflect the change in judicial assignment of the case, as well as other activity therein. Counsel may also track reassignment of all their cases through the court’s case tracking program, E-Track, which is accessible at no charge at the E-Courts link on the Unified Court System website (at

Previous post:

Next post: